Turning 25 & Growing Up My Style

Accessories, Fashion, Restaurants & pubs, Retail, Uncategorized

So I clocked up one quarter of a century yesterday and I spent Saturday celebrating this coming of age. Along with my mum, step dad and sister I sipped Mercier champagne at bustling pub cum restaurant The Chestnut Tree in Wolverhampton. The Chestnut is one of my favourite restaurants; it’s dark and woody in a cosy way and a great choice for evenings out, there is a friendly atmosphere and it’s always lively which is a good sign. Nothing’s too much trouble for the staff, not happy with something? you’ll gain free drinks or even your order on the house! They’ve just acquired a sizzling new menu and even switched up some of their existing platters with tangy add-ons, there are a lot of Latin America inspired mains and sides to choose from, I ordered their new Mexican Meltdown, and a meltdown it was! this is chicken smothered with a fusion of salsa and melting Monterrey Jack Cheese, topped with Jalapenos with a side of curly fries. Like the country Mexico itself, this was a carnival in my mouth, bursting with sweet and savoury flavours.

I was itching to wear my latest purchases from New Look, you can’t go wrong with silver, it goes with everything, it never dates and it’s a great choice for jewellery and other accessories. I recently treated myself to the silver strappy open-toes, the block heels of which are adorned with tiny seed beads in an assortment of white, mother of pearl and pale gold. I think they look like a shoe Chanel would design as part of a classic range maybe. Chanel are famed for those unforgettable gun and light bulb heels from a few years back, they kind of reminded me of these!

IMG_8468.PNG

IMG_8469.PNG

This is why I champion stores on the high street like New Look because of their ability to relate to the catwalk, so they can bring it within more peoples’ reach. I am aware of a diffusion line in New Look called Apricot; I found a loose grey t-shirt style top adorned with blue-silver sequins that was only £26.99 but looked like it should have cost more; New Look also stock labels like AX Paris (best for their dresses and sweaters), ROAM (Jewellery) and Generation 915 (clothes and shoes for children up to 15 years). I’m never stuck in New Look and can’t fault the choice, on their website and in store. Their YesYes range of jeans and jeggings caters for all leg lengths and trouser shapes too, I’ve never had anything from there that has not been wearable. I have a feeling the beaded block heels will sell like hot cakes with party season just days away!

IMG_8470.JPG

On my night of celebration I opted for my Molly leather skinny jeans from River Island, the sequin top I’ve just mentioned and my beaded block heels (above). It was a safe bet because I felt neither under or overdressed for the occasion and my shoes generated some compliments from my family. I thought my feet would be freezing this time of year but this didn’t bother me in the slightest. A few years ago I would have splashed out on a brand new dress made up of all sequins, I’d probably worn more glitter than the pub Christmas tree and my heels would have been what I can describe as “undanceable.” I must admit my style since then has grown up a bit, the only dresses I wear are floaty maxis on holiday and I know what suits me better and when. If anything I play it safer than I did when I was 19 or 20 and I go for more “classic” pieces that can be worn more than once.

Leave a Reply

