Barmouth: Best Place To Be… Beside The Seaside!

Accessories, Fashion, Popular Culture, Retail, Style Hunting, Travel

How hot is today? Scorching! The weather geniuses reckon today’s the hottest British Summer Time day for 9 years!  Jericho and I have been inside, fans on full blast, because outside, you just can’t turn the heating off!  I heard about the recent events in Tunisia and our thoughts are with the families and friends of those who were affected.  I have chosen not to travel abroad this year, however I have just returned from what can be described as the shortest tour of Wales ever (2 nights). A lot of exciting experiences were packed snugly into the almost 3 days I spent at the seaside town of Barmouth and the quieter, but still as beach-y, Llandanwg.  Even though a fan of many places around the world, my connection with Wales is still going strong.  Four generations of my family, me included, have always enjoyed holidays to the Welsh coast.

Shipwrecked! at Llandanwg

Barmouth Bridge, Thomas Kincade style, as seen on many postcards!

If you’re the lively seaside town type, Barmouth (Abermaw in Welsh), will be right up your street.  With a candy shop array of souvenir shops, thrift stores, amusement arcades a nostalgic fairground and an impressive Miami like beach lined with palms, you won’t be short of anything to fascinate you.  Full to the brim camera memory and endless Camera Roll guaranteed!

They sure know how to do fish and chips at The Harbour Fish Bar.  The fish and chip dinners I’ve enjoyed by the scenic harbour have felt like eating the seaside!

You won’t be short of souvenirs adorned with Griffin dragons, semi-precious stoned goodies or fashion jewellery.  And of course, buckets, spades and crab lining tack are never in short supply!

My favourite gift shop for lovely little things for your house and accessories is the Silly Shilling.  They sell the best seaside and maritime themed trinkets such as photo frames, little pots, wall art, meaningful quotes you can hang up and the always trendy arm candy and friendship bracelets, some of which have little bells!

IMG_9165IMG_9166

Beach beautiful arm candy from the Silly Shilling

Looking for something a little more blingy? You may need your sunglasses at Nell’s Accessories along the same row of shops as The Silly Schilling!  Say hello to my new friend…

aa skelly fobb
Key fob, assorted designs available at Nell’s Accessories!

Nell’s Accessories is a fairly new outlet that stocks the most sparkly fashion jewellery and key fobs on the coast.  Considering the quality of what they sell, their prices are reasonable, my newest key fob, inspired by a Tim Burton film was £4.99 and so was my pendant of Tinkerbell sitting on a pearl.  Excellent gift shopping ideas for friends or family await!
pp pearl tinkerbellyy

Tinkerbell sits on a pearl, Nell’s Accessories

I was thrilled to stumble upon the Factory Clearance Store that stocks health and beauty products from the best brands, at better than half price! I’m so happy with my jewels in a bottle by celebrity favourite Ciate, this one is called The Hamptons.  There were plenty of OPI, Ciate, W7, L’oreal Paris and Rimmel make up favourites and nail polish for sale at Factory Clearance, some for as little as £1.50!  If I’d have bought that nail polish online or at a department store it would cost way more than £3.  If you’re looking to save money on the brands you love, this is your shop!

IMG_8960
Ciate Nail Paint in The Hamptons

If you’ve never been to Barmouth, or Wales for that matter, you should pay a visit, you won’t leave the traditional Welsh Rock Shop empty handed!

IMG_9180
Rock available in the most unexpected flavours, even Blueberry Muffin and Gin & Tonic!  Welsh Rock Shop, 40p each!

If you’re used to chilled out music and gifts of an ethically sourced, bohemian kind, you won’t come out of Ebeneezer’s Emporium!  It’s a tea/coffee house lined with handmade souvenirs such as recycled metal ornaments, Murano glass jewellery, key fobs, rugs and there is a lot more upstairs too!

IMG_8949IMG_8950

And the best bit…

IMG_8944

The ceiling!

I was on a downer the morning after I came home because when I’m sun worshipping on the beach, fishing, sight seeing and shopping on vacation, I often feel like my bones have been removed with all that not thinking about work or my everyday rituals back home.  I’m that in love with Barmouth I’ll probably go back hundreds of times!

Leave a Reply

