Lacquer & Leather… What This Week’s Been All About!

2016 & trends, Accessories, Beauty & Fragrance, Colours, Cosmetics Collections, Designer Collaborations, DIY Health & Beauty, Fashion, Music, Music Genres, Nails, Perfume, Personalised Gift Ideas, Popular Culture, Retail, Style & Beauty Gives Back, Style Hunting, Tips, Uncategorized, Vlogging

It’s only the first week of March but I have accumulated a few new beauty favourites already from some newer brands and some not so new.

Freedom Make-Up, which has been on sale at Superdrug stores is a fairly new London brand.  I am having a love affair with liquid lipsticks and lip lacquer products at the moment.  They’re well worth a try if you want a hit of crisp colour that lasts longer than a conventional lipstick or gloss.  If you’re new to Freedom’s winning concept of professional standard products at super affordable prices, the Pro Melts Lipglosses are one product well worth a try.  I say I am not a “pink” girly girl a lot but I love a popping fuchsia lip from time to time, so Smooth and Sugar Fix were the ones I picked up on my recent journey to my local Superdrug, which also stocks Freedom’s sister brand The Make-Up Revolution.  I am so impressed with this lipstick / gloss hybrid that’s described as having an innovative “melted lipstick” formula, ten out of ten for colour pay-off, shine and general feel on lips, I was also happy with the longevity of Pro Melts.  Working closely with Freedom, Make-Up Revolution came up with a matte version called Salvation Lip Lacquer, which goes on as a cream and morphs into a matte finish for a velvety pout.  Salvation Lip Lacquers are around the same price as Freedom’s Pro Melts, £3!   A variety of shades is available from subtle nudes, bold pinks and classic red, not sure I’m brave enough to rock navy or lavender lips though!

afreedompromeltslips

Freedom Pro-Melts Lipglosses in Sugar Fix (above) and Smooth

I’m thrilled to have discovered this revolutionary brand and will be trying out more of their cutting edge products, they’ve even got a strobing highlighter similar to MAC’s Strobe Cream for a massive fraction of the price.  (http://www.freedommakeuplondon.com/)

akikopawderfacee

KIKO Cosmetics Milano (http://www.kikocosmetics.com/en-gb/)  are another new-ish brand I have reviewed before on YouTube, they’re also futuristic in their approach to the latest beauty trends.  One KIKO product I can’t recommend enough is Moondust Face Powder, which is part of their Shining Star collection.  The interstellar inspired packaging alone is stunning, but look inside to reveal the most three dimensional blush you’ve ever used.  This tops other blushers I have used, it delivers just the right amount of healthy glow and shimmer without you looking overdone.

afacepowderrr

amoondustmysteriouspink

KIKO are a brand originating from Italy, pop-up cosmetic stores selling the brand have been a success, especially at Birmingham’s Bull Ring, Intu Merry Hill and in London, originally KIKO only had stores in Europe but demand for their high-performance, low price make-up gems have soared.  If you’ve not tried this brand you’re missing a right treat!

akikolondon

Sleek layout of a KIKO store on Regent St, London

aalexxaaaglamourr

From an early age, I developed quite a grown-up reading taste, Glamour has to be my favourite British magazine of all time, I’ve been reading it since I was around 12 years old. I love the mixed bag of style and beauty essentials intercepted by articles about issues affecting the world and their takes on the best books, film and TV is unbeatable.  Another thing I love about Glamour is their freebies, this month’s treat for readers is a complexion all rounder from Balance Me.

abalancemeradiancefacemask

Radiance Face Mask is a five minute rejuvenator for all skin types which, as well as drawing out impurities, polishes away dead skin cells, gives all important hydration and smoothes at the same time.  I’ve never before tried this brand but something tells me this is one of Balance Me’s best sellers.

agelenvyrevlon

Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy Nail Polishes from left: Wild Card, Hold ‘Em, Royal Flush and Diamond Top Coat

Those of you that watch both my YouTube channels will know I’m a sucker for a great nail polish and one of the formulas I am currently loving is at home gel standard.  A lot of brands on the high-street are bringing out gel formulas you can paint on as easy as conventional nail polish, no queues at the salon or UV needed!  I’m especially impressed with Revlon’s range, Colorstay Gel Envy.  Wild Card, Hold ‘Em and Royal Flush are my favourites and the Diamond Top Coat ensures that salon quality, gel-like plump finish that lasts for days.
 

 

Leave a Reply

