Make-up Monday…

Accessories, Beauty & Fragrance, Colours, DIY Health & Beauty, Economics & Finance, Fashion, High Street Heroes, How To's, Nails, Pattern & Print, Popular Culture, Retail, Special Occasions, SS17, Style Hunting, Tips, Uncategorized

Nothing beats the feeling of getting your hands on a product you’ve being eyeing up for ages. I had a few hallelujah moments on a recent shopping trip.

First of all I re-stocked on my favourite foundation of all time, Stila Illuminating Liquid Foundation. This is extremely easy to apply with my trusty Real Techniques stippling brush and it delivers a lit from within healthy glow without streaking or showing tell-tale orange lines. Being pale skinned, the best shade for me is 20 Watts. Yes, being a radiance enhancing foundation, it’s shades are named after light bulb wattages, very appropriate. The darker the shade, the higher the wattage number.  

I’m also a fan of Make-up Revolution, that offer cutting edge innovations in make-up without the professional price tag, and their products are available at Superdrug! My most recent addition to my Revolution palette haul is the Hard Day Eyeshadow palette. There’s 18 neutral and smoky shades, 12 of which are shimmer and the other 6 matte. The colours look super versatile and wearable for any occasion, with this line up, I’m already dreaming up my next evening smoky eye look! 


Recently, I’ve been drawn to metallic “lip toppers” that can be worn alone or over your favourite lipstick to create a velvet matte, shimmery finish to your pout. Having fallen in love with the Lime Crime Diamond Crushers, I have also invested in Kiko’s Lip Top Coat. It’s exclusive application wand rolls the product onto your lips to deliver smooth, satin-y shine in seconds.


Unlike Lime Crime’s Diamond Crushers, the Kiko Lip Top Coat is quite fluid and watery in consistency and has to be shaken up before you apply it to mix the shimmer. 


Essie are one of the best brands for an unlimited variety of bright, on trend colours. I must own tons of Essie’s bestselling shades. My two recent additions for spring are Lots of Lux, which is a shimmering lapiz blue with a superfine matte glitter finish and Jewel In The Crown, which is a very bright, modern and edgy plum with shimmer that looks fuchsia in some lights.

Leave a Reply

